The Story of Navratri Puja festival date 2013 from 05 October to 14 October

The Story of Navratri festival –  

Navratri puja date – from 5th October to 14th October

chandi deviNavratri is a festival which is celebrated for 9 days. These 9 days are totally devoted to 3 Goddess namely Maa Lakshmi – the Goddess of capital, Maa Durga – the Goddess of courage, Maa Saraswati ­– the Goddess of knowledge. During Navratri, Hindus keeps fast in order to worship Goddess Maa Saraswati, Maa Durga and Maa Lakshmi and get blessings from them.

The festival of Navratri starts on the day of Ashwina Shukla when the night is totally clear and has enormous light. It is believed that Maa Durga beats devils on ninth day of Navratri according to the Hindu calendar that’s why Hindus celebrated ninth day as Mahanavmi.

The schedule of Navratri followed by Hindus to worship 3 Goddess is:

  • 1st – 3rd day: Navratri festival starts with the preparation of small portion in pooja room with mud/dirt and barley seeds especially dedicated to Maa Durga, the Goddess of bravery, courage and power.
  • 4th – 6th day: These 3 days, the goddess of wealth and richness i.e. Maa Lakshmi is worshipped.
  • 7th – 8th day: On the 7th day, puja of Maa Saraswati is performed in order to gain knowledge from her blessings.
  • 8th day It belongs to defeat of all wrong deeds in mind and heart and for this reasons all these deeds are burnt in holy fire.
  • Mahanavmi: Mahanavmi is the final day of Navratri. On Mahanavmi, every house calls nine unmarried girls and worships them with pooja thalis and serve them feast.

Ancient story of Navratri

Every different part of India has separate views for the festival of Navratri. They are as follows:

North India

In north India, it is believed that Mahishasur, the powerful devil had worshipped Lord Shiva to acquire the power of time without end. The evil soon started killing innocent people and want to win all the 3 lokas. In heaven, all the gods had a meet and decided to visit Kailash where Lord Shiva stays to find a way in order to kill Mahishasur. After discussion with all the gods, Lord Shiva calls Lord Vishnu and Lord Brahma and asks them to unite their powers. They all made a conclusion to protect the world from evil. So they created a female soldier i.e. Maa Durga.

When Goddess Durga crossed the way of evil, he fascinated and made a proposal of marriage to her. Maa Durga agreed to his proposal but with a situation – the evil have to win a conflict against her. The evil agreed and the fight continued for 9 days and nights. On the 9th day, Maa Durga finally got the success to kill the deadly evil. Vijayadashmi is celebrated on the tenth day which signifies the victory of good over sin.

Eastern belief

In east India, it is believed that the king of Himalaya (Daksh) had a beautiful daughter who wants to marry Lord Shiva. Lord Shiva finally came to marry her wearing tiger skin which disappointed king Daksha and he broke all the relationships with his son in law. Uma did not like his father’s behavior of not inviting Lord Shiva to the Yagya. She requests her father to accept Lord Shiva as a son in law but king Daksha argued with her. King Daksha said many bad words to refer Lord Shiva through which Uma feels insulted and decides to jump in that organized Yagya. Lord Shiva got so angry and killed king Daksha. In order to bring peace to the world, Uma took birth and married to Shiva. From that time, it is said that, Uma comes to their parent’s home every year with Saraswati, Lakshmi, Kartik, Ganesh, Jaya and Bijiya during Navratri.

Another Legend

Well as described in Ramayana, Lord Rama took 9 days to kill Ravana. It is said that Ravana wants to marry Sita so he kidnapped her in absence of Lord Rama and Lord Laxman in forest. Lord Rama fights for 9 days to defeat Ravana and got success on the tenth day. The tenth day is called Vijayadashmi while 9 days of fighting came to be known as Navratri.

All the nine days of Navratri is dedicated to 9 Goddess which are as follows:

  1. 1st day Shailputri: Shailputri also known as Parvati, was the daughter of King of Himalayas. The first day among nine of Navratri is purely ends with the puja of Shailputri.
  2. 2nd day Brahamcharini: She is known to be the Goddess of intelligence and good judgment. Her one hand holds water pot while other hand holds rosary.
  3. 3rd day Maa Chandraghanta: She is having 10 hands where 8 hands holding various weapons and remaining 2 making gestures. She is very bright and holds a half circular moon behind her forehead.
  4. 4th day Maa Kushmanda: She used to stay in Bhimaparvat. Maa Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth night of Navratri. She forms the gestures according to Pindi dance form.
  5. 5th day Skanda Mata: Her mount is rising lion. It is said that by worshipping Skanda mata, even the fools become an ocean of knowledge. She holds her son Skanda on her lap.
  6. 6th day Kaalratri: Her mount is donkey. She is blue in color and posses 4 hands. She is known to be the enemy of darkness.
  7. 7th day Maha gauri: MahaGauri is the seventh Durga and known to be the fairest of all the Durga Shaktis. She is white in color and used to wear white sari. Her vehicle is bull.
  8. 8th day Siddhidatri: In “Devipuran”, it is described that Lord Shiva worshipped Maha Shakti to gain eight siddhies which are Anima, Mahima, Garima, Laghima, Prapti, Prakamya, Iishitva and Vashitva and after that half body of Lord Shiva has became of Goddess. Siddhidatri is known to be the eighth Durga shakti.

– Read Here – for Order any Puja  in  Navratri and more about the Nav Durga Puja Detailss

Category: Navratri

Created: Wednesday, October 02 2013
Author: Lokesh Jagirdar

Free Horoscopes 2017

Aries Taurus Gemini Cancer Leo Virgo Libra Scorpio Sagittarius Capricorn Aquarius Pisces